Karl Tucker

Karl has worked within the food industry for the last 25 years and was the Chairman of Yeo Valley Production until June 2020. He has been involved for a number of years with charities who work to improve the lives of young people in the Southwest.  Karl was a trustee and Treasurer of Young Bristol for 10 years and a trustee of the Bridgwater Education Trust.  Karl took on the role of Chair of SBY in June 2021. He is also a trustee of Feeding Bristol as well as being a Governor of Merchants’ Academy in Withywood.

Karl is passionate about tackling the root causes of social mobility within the Southwest and the UK as a whole, to ensure that every young person, irrespective of their personal background, has the opportunity to realise their potential in life for themselves, their communities and the country as a whole.

Deputy Chair

Laura Chesham

Laura joined SBY as a trustee in June 2017, but she has been involved since 2013 when SBY became a charity. She has seen it grow during this period and is excited about the future and the ways in which it can continue to support young people to allow them to flourish. Laura is a solicitor at a local Bristol law firm and specialises in advising charities on all aspects of their governance and operations. She is passionate about charities and the highly important work that they do for society.


James Benson

James is a qualified accountant who for the last 15 years has worked with smaller growing organisations, in the Southwest, helping them with their strategic and financial management. Prior to that he served on the Board of PLC’s and held other senior finance roles. James joined SBY as Treasurer in September 2018.

Matt Thomas

As a resident of South Bristol, Matt has lived and worked in Bristol for over 20 years. He is an accomplished agency strategist, who has worked with some of the world’s largest brands across the full range of marketing disciplines including advertising, branding and digital marketing. As the newest addition to our trustees having joined in late 2021, his input will help SBY position itself for success in its next phase of development.

Schools & Universities

University of Bristol

Lucinda Parr – Registrar and University Secretary

University of the West of England

Suzanne Carrie – Head of Equality, Diversity & Inclusivity

Ashton Park School

Tom Shepheard – Assistant Headteacher

Bedminster Down School

Jon Van Eker – Assistant Principal

Bridge Learning Campus

Liz Hackling – Assistant Head, Personal Development and Wellbeing

Merchants' Academy

Sam Williamson – Executive Principal

Oasis Academy Brislington

Ina Goldberg – Deputy Principal

Oasis Academy John Williams

Andrea Rea – Vice Principal

St. Bernadette Catholic Secondary School

Jackie Garrett – Deputy Head Teacher